Chemistry 320 - Organic Chemistry I: Books & Ebooks

The text continues to build on its reputation of providing students with a progressive introduction to organic chemistry. One of the most outstanding features of the new edition is an increased and more thorough coverage of mechanisms. ORGANIC CHEMISTRY, Third edition is clearly written and provides students with many more real life examples of organic chemistry, especially in the areas of bio-organic chemistry and medicinal chemistry.
Source: amazon.com

From the Acyloin Condensation to the Wurtz Reaction. A compact collection of 134 important named organic reactions from modern organic chemistry with clearly outlined reaction mechanisms and applications of each reaction. Named Organic Reactions provides the perfect revision aid to key organic reactions, references for easy information access, further information, including side reactions, yields, and variations of the reaction This book is the essential guide to named organic reactions for chemistry students.
Source: amazon.com

Applying a functional group approach, this textbook encourages students to reason through a reaction in organic chemistry rather than relying on rote memorization.
Source: amazon.com

Extensively revised and updated, this second edition covers the basics of the subject and the mechanisms for a wide range of chemical reactions. The text emphasises the frontier orbital theory and the use of the Hückel molecular orbitals to account for chemical reactivity. This is fully supported by references to the necessary experimental evidence, extensive data and new research methods currently in use.
Source: amazon.com

This text for undergraduates in chemistry and related disciplines explores organic chemistry as a dynamic and ever-expanding area of science. Fundamental to its approach is an underlying rationale of the mechanistic themes that unify the discipline.
Source: worldcat.org

Instant Notes in Organic Chemistry, 2/e concentrates entirely on the basics of the subject without going into exhaustive detail or repetitive examples. This is a student-friendly textbook and will help students understand the subject.

Invitation to Organic Chemistry provides students with an elementary understanding of organic chemistry in order to support study in career fields such as nursing, agricultural sciences, biology, allied health sciences and pharmacy. Invitation to Organic Chemistry is not a truncated two-semester text. It was written specifically for the shorter one-semester, or one- or two-quarter organic chemistry course at the college level.
Source: amazon.com

Catalysts for Fine Chemical Synthesis, v. 1
Catalysts are increasingly used by chemists engaged in fine chemical synthesis within both industry and academia. Today, there exists a huge choice of high-tech catalysts, which add enormously to the repertoire of synthetic possibilities. However, catalysts are occasionally capricious, sometimes difficult to use and almost always require both skill and experience in order to achieve optimal results. This series aims to be a practical help for advanced undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate students, as well as experienced chemists in industry and academia working in organic and organometallic synthesis. The series features: • Tested and validated procedures. • Authoritative reviews on classes of catalysts. • Assessments of all types of catalysts. • Expertise from the Leverhulme Centre for Innovative Catalysis, Liverpool, UK.

Catalysts for Fine Chemical Synthesis, v. 3
The Catalysts for Fine Chemical Synthesis series contains tested and validated procedures which provide a unique range resources for chemists who work in organic chemistry.'... of great value to synthetic organic chemists...'(The Chemists, Summer 2003) Volume 3 in the series focuses on catalysts for carbon-carbon bond formation and presents practical and detailed protocols on how to use sophisticated catalysts by the'inventors'and'developers'who created them. The combination of protocols and review commentaries helps the reader to easily and quickly understand and use the new high-tech catalysts.

Ideal for those who have previously studies organic chemistry but not in great depth and with little exposure to organic chemistry in a formal sense. This text aims to bridge the gap between introductory-level instruction and more advanced graduate-level texts, reviewing the basics as well as presenting the more advanced ideas that are currently of importance in organic chemistry. * Provides students with the organic chemistry background required to succeed in advanced courses. * Practice problems included at the end of each chapter.