Skip to Main Content

Psychology 440 - Seminar: Information Literacy Presentation

Objectives

  • Provide information and resources needed to effectively conduct academic research​

  • Understand different searching techniques used to navigate the online databases ​

  • How to critically search for articles while evaluating them for content​

  • Importance of citing correctly and use of citation tool

Definition and Avoiding Plagiarism

Merriam-Webster online dictionary defines it as:​

“To commit literary theft”​

  • ​According to the Tuskegee University Academic Regulations and Procedures for Undergraduates, pg. 26:

Honesty in academics, as well as in other matters, is expected of everyone at Tuskegee University. It is the obligation of all to adhere to this standard. Individuals are not expected to cheat or be dishonest, not to create the appearance of being dishonest, and not to contribute to or condone the dishonesty of others. Dishonesty, such as cheating, plagiarism, forgery, or knowingly furnishing false information to officials of the University will not be tolerated. The penalty could include failure in the course and possible dismissal or suspension from the University. 

​Avoiding Plagiarism​

  • ​Do not wait until the last minute to start an assignment​
  • Use technology tools to help you to set up appointments or set reminder alarms​
  • Cite the information correctly​

  • When in doubt, cite the information 

How To Find Information On Your Topic​

  • Use databases to search for information​

    • Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, or ProQuest​

    • Look outside of your discipline​

      • History, Sociology, Chemistry, or Biology​

  •  Search engines such as Google to get an idea of what is out there​
    • Search Google Scholar if you cannot access Tuskegee University's databases
    • Search using keywords from the topic​

The Trifecta of the Journal Article​

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition                 

  1. Read the Abstract​

  2. Scroll down to the Conclusion​

  3. Review the “Bibliography” ​

How to Search the Databases​

  • Basic and Advanced Search​

  • Quotation Marks​

    • Example – “Dissociative Identity Disorder”​

  • Boolean Operators​

    • Can use quotation marks or parentheses​

AND​

  • “Dissociative Identity Disorder ” AND “Comorbidity ” ​

OR​

  • “Dissociative Identity Disorder”  OR “Multiple Personality Disorder”​

NOT​

  • “Dissociative Identity Disorder” NOT “Split Personality Disorder”​

Databases

Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) - The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazines, journals, and newspaper articles for research.​

Databases we will use today:

  • ​PubMed Central
  • Academic Search Complete (AVL) & Academic Search Premier (AVL)​ (EBSCO databases)
  • JSTOR​
  • ProQuest Central​

Source: https://www.avl.lib.al.us/about

Information Literacy Survey

References

Alabama Virtual Library. (n.d). About AVL. https://www.avl.lib.al.us/about

Basic Research Strategy - Step-by-step guide & research rescue: Basic research strategy–​ [Subject guides at
        Brigham Young University].  (2019). Retrieved from  ​
        http://lgimages.s3.amazonaws.com/data/imagemanager/8444/research_​ stepswhite.jpg​

​Developing a Research Question. (2019). Retrieved from​   
       http://www2.ku.edu/~splat/coursepages/general/researchquestion.shtml​

​Primary, Secondary, & Tertiary Sources. (2009). Retrieved from ​
        http://webcache.googleusercontent.com/search? q=cache:s_c9cCucrco​   
       J:blogs.cofc.edu/lgclibrary/files/2010/08/primary_secondary_ tertiary_sources.pdf​