The Reference Department provides in-person and remote access to accurate and reliable information, services, and technologies that support the academic and research needs of the students, faculty and staff of Tuskegee University. Reference staff will assist you in locating materials, using the catalog, electronic databases, and other basic reference sources. Reference is the place where research begins. We are located on the 2nd floor of the Main Library.
Reference materials can be general or specialized. For example, dictionaries, encyclopedias, atlases, handbooks, and almanacs are all examples of reference resources.
Current print journals are located in the Reference Department and are arranged alphabetically by title. Bound journals are are located in the stacks on the 5th and 6th levels.
The library catalog is an online database of the books, journals, and other materials located in the library. Search the library catalog to see what books we have in our library system.
These fee-based databases includes full-text articles, e-journals, and e-books. For off-campus access use the username and password that you use to login to the domain. If you do not have a Tuskegee University User ID, contact Campus Technology at 334-727-8040, helpdesk@tuskegee.edu.
The majority of the library's collection of books is housed in the STACKS. Books are arranged by call number order using the Library of Congress Classification System, and are located on the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th levels. A total of 10 books can be checked out at a time. A valid TU ID card is required, and books are checked out at the Circulation Desk, located on the 1st floor of the library.
Theses are located on the Reference floor and are arranged alphabetically by the author's last name. A thesis can be checked out by completing a special permission form. A valid TU ID is required.
To access computer workstations located in this area, patrons must log on using their username and password. If you do not have a username and password or are experiencing problems with your log in, contact Campus Technology at 727-8040. Other services include wireless network access, photocopier (10 cents a page) and microfilm/fiche reader printer.
Mr. Richard P. Webb, Library Assistant
334-727-8896