Home - History 316 & 317 - African American History - LibGuides at Tuskegee University

History Databases

Internet Archive

archive.org
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.Founded in 1996, their mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge. They collect published works and make them available in digital formats. They are building a public library that can serve anyone in the world with access to the Internet.

Special Collections

The Special Collections is located on the 3rd floor of the Ford Motor Company Library (Hollis Burke Frissell building). Special Collections include The Albert Murray Collection, the Rare Books Collection, the Washington Collection, and the Dr. James E. Massey Collections.

In 1999, a separate Rare Books Room was established. The Rare Books room houses titles with publication dates in the 19th century, particularly those dealing with the institution of slavery and early African American literature, books published before the 1900s, books published in limited editions, first editions, and autographed books. The collection also contains a sizeable collection of abolitionist literature and a large collection of pamphlets dealing primarily with racial issues.

The Albert Murray Collection is located inside the rare books room. It consists of books donated by Albert Murray, Tuskegee University graduate (1939), author of many renowned books, and co-founder of Jazz at the Lincoln Center.” It contains his personal collection of literacy masterpieces, scientific, and social scientific titles, reflecting a broad appreciation of human achievement. Books and other memorabilia of Albert Murray are on permanent exhibit in the Rare Books Room.

The Washington Collection, a non-circulating collection, named in honor of Booker T. Washington, consists of materials that are “by and about Black People,” and is comprised of over 30,000 volumes and several microfilm sets. Although its strongest holdings are in African American history and literature, materials about Africa and the entire Black Diaspora are included.

The James Massey Collection
Dr. James E. Massey, Dean Emeritus of the Tuskegee University Chapel, donated over 2,000 books to the Tuskegee University Library. This collection consists primarily of books on religion but also includes titles on American history, Black studies, autobiographies, slave history, race progress, and music.

HOURS
Monday - Friday
10:00 AM to 6:00 PM

Contact Us

Phone: (334) 727-8890
Fax: (334) 727-9282

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is located on the 2nd floor.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)-is the process of obtaining materials not owned by Tuskegee University. Articles are usually received in 3 to 5 days, and books in 4 to 7 days. (No charge for items obtained from universities within Alabama). Please make requests as far in advance as possible.

In order to request an interlibrary loan, you must fill out an Interlibrary Loan Request Form.
If you require assistance, please contact 334-727-8895 or contact:
Ms. Amber Lantz - Ph: 334-727-8899 / e-mail - alantz@tuskegee.edu

U.S. Government Resources

Civil Rights Act Legislation - July 2, 2014, marked the 50th anniversary of the passage of the Civil Rights Act. President Johnson signed the act into law prohibiting segregation and discrimination regarding schools, public places and activities, and employment practices.

Alabama Virtual Library (AVL)

Alabama Virtual Library
Provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazines, journals, and newspaper articles for research.

History 316 & 317 - African American History: Home

Welcome

History Databases

Internet Archive

Archives

Hours of Operation Monday-Friday 8 am - 4:30 pm

Ph: 334-725-2374 or 334-725-2383 e-mail - archives@tuskegee.edu

Special Collections

The Special Collections is located on the 3rd floor of the Ford Motor Company Library (Hollis Burke Frissell building). Special Collections include The Albert Murray Collection, the Rare Books Collection, the Washington Collection, and the Dr. James E. Massey Collections.

HOURS Monday - Friday 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM

Contact Us

Phone: (334) 727-8890 Fax: (334) 727-9282