School of Nursing and Allied Health: Nursing

Accurate drug calculations start here! Clinical Calculations: With Applications to General and Specialty Areas, 8th Edition covers all four major drug calculation methods — ratio & proportion, formula, fractional equation, and dimensional analysis. It also includes practice problems not only for general care but also for specialty areas such as pediatrics and critical care. A new chapter covers insulin administration, and concise, illustrated information includes the latest medications, drug administration techniques, and devices.
Source: amazon.com

Selected by Doody's as a Core Title for Critical Care Nursing in Health Science and deemed as an "Essential Purchase."​ Prepare your students for successful critical care nursing practice! Focusing on preparing students to provide optimal care for critically ill patients and their families, this updated 11th Edition of Morton's classic text integrates the latest research in health care and nursing education, while providing clear, concise writing; outstanding photographs and illustrations; and a holistic approach to the complexities of critical care nursing. By presenting theory and principles within the context of practical application, the authors promote critical thinking and clinical decision-making in every chapter and emphasize the patient as the center of the health care team's efforts. KEY FEATURES NEW! QSEN icons signal pertinent content within the text. Updated Spotlight on Genetics boxes include important genetic information and summaries of selected genetic disorders. Updated Case Studies with Critical Thinking Questions guide students on the journey from knowledge to practical application. Updated Evidence-Based Practice boxes include excerpts from the latest AACN practice alerts and published research, helping readers understand the importance of research-based practice. Considerations for Older Patients boxes highlight the special needs of the fastest growing segment of our population. Patient Safety boxes guide safe and effective practice by alerting the critical care nurse to risk factors, signs and symptoms, side effects, and complications. Health History boxes summarize key areas to cover and relevant information that may be revealed during the health history. Collaborative Care Guides incorporate nursing diagnoses and emphasize outcomes and interventions based on teamwork and collaboration. Online student resources include short videos, animations, review questions, and much more. Lippincott DocuCare , a web-based educational EHR simulation software, available for purchase, further supports your students' readiness for practice.

Davis Advantage for Medical-Surgical Nursing www.DavisAdvantage.com Instant Access: 978-0-8036-6037-3 Access Card: 978-0-8036-6038-0 2017 Winner of The International Awards for Nursing Excellence Recipient of the Capstone International Nursing Award Awarded by The Honor Society of Nursing, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) Awarded first place in the 2017 AJN Book of the Year Award in the Digital Products category Learn - Apply - Assess Davis Advantage Med-Surg is a comprehensive curriculum solution that creates a seamless learning experience across the Learn-Apply-Assess continuum. It combines an innovative text, Medical-Surgical Nursing: Making Connections to Practice, with two online programs, Personalized Learning Plans and Davis Edge for Med-Surg. Together, they create an immersive, multimedia experience that tracks each student''s progress and assesses their knowledge until they have mastered the concepts and are ready to apply them in class, clinical, and practice. LEARN The Textbook Medical-Surgical Nursing: Making Connections to Practice Janice Hoffman, PhD, RN, ANEF, Senior Associate Dean, Academic Affairs, The George Washington University School of Nursing, Washington, DC Nancy Sullivan, DNP, RN, Assistant Professor/Simulations Director, Acute and Chronic Care, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing This student-focused, award-winning text connects the concepts students are learning in class to the real world in which they will practice. A consistent, streamlined organization and a wealth of pedagogical features promote critical thinking and clinical decision making by emphasizing the patient-centered role of the nurse and the hows and whys of clinical presentation and treatment plans for their patients. APPLY Personalized Online Learning Plans Personalized Learning Plans offer multiple paths to learning success. Students are assessed on their comprehension of key topics and then are given a plan to work through based on their strengths and weaknesses. Interactive case studies, animations and dynamic activities engage students and bring the concepts to life to help drive mastery.

Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research, Fourth Edition is an essential resource for teaching students how to translate research into practice. The text is based on the five step IDP process (knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation). The authors employ a fresh and updated approach to teaching nursing research using evidence-based practice. The Fourth Edition features more real-world examples, expanded coverage of qualitative methods, discussion of various types of research questions and explores the hierarchy of evidence.New to the Fourth Edition:Updated Apply What You Have Learned evolving case study Real-life evidence-based practice examplesExploration of the Hierarchy Model featuring all types of evidence for each levelExpanded content on the qualitative method Updated references and new diagrams summarizing statistical analysis and designs Navigate 2 Premier AccessInstructor ResourcesInstructor's ManualTime-on-task analysisInteractive lecturesCompetency mapping documentPowerPoint slidesTest bankPractice activitiesEvolving case study

It’s your complete guide to nursing — from basic concepts to essential skills! Fundamentals of Nursing, 9th Edition prepares you to succeed as a nurse by providing a solid foundation in critical thinking, evidence-based practice, nursing theory, and safe clinical care in all settings. With illustrated, step-by-step guidelines, this book makes it easy to learn important skills and procedures.
Source: barnesandnoble.com

Uniquely organized around the AONE competencies, this trusted resource gives you an easy-to-understand, in-depth look at today’s most prevalent nursing leadership and management topics. Coverage features the most up-to-date, research-based blend of practice and theory related to topics.
Source:amazon.com

Popular with nursing students for its humorous cartoons and easy-to-read style, Nursing Today: Transition and Trends, 8th Edition helps you make a successful transition from student to practicing nurse. It covers the profession’s leading issues and opportunities, ensuring that you graduate not only with patient care skills, but also with career development skills such as resume writing, finding a job, and effective interviewing. Study questions and test-taking tips prepare you for the NCLEX-RN® exam, and discussions of communication and management prepare you to succeed in the workplace.

The only book directed specifically at assessing patients with a specific complaint a perfect tool that can be applied in the classroom and as a working utility in clinical practice. Unique in its approach, this new book takes users beyond the identification of physical assessment abnormalities to arrive at a differential diagnosis of the patient's health problem. You'll learn how to incorporate physical examination, patient history, and diagnostic studies to accurately diagnosis a patient's problem.
Source: amazon.com

Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice guides nurses in the art and science of holistic nursing and offers ways of thinking, practicing, and responding to bring healing to the forefront of healthcare. Using self-assessments, relaxation, imagery nutrition, and exercise, it presents expanded strategies for enhancing psychophysiology. The Fourth Edition addresses both basic and advanced strategies for integrating complementary and alternative interventions into the clinical practice.

Not too big and not too small--this new mid-sized reference provides a practical approach to planning and documenting patient care. it includes introductory information about the nursing process and nursing diagnosis, interactive care plan worksheets, NIC/NOC, concept mapping and highlights community-based/home care interventions.
Source: amazon.com

*Reviews all material critical to the Introduction to Nursing Courses (Trends and Issues)
*New edition details the changing roles of registered nurses within managed care and institutional settings
*Covers career management, including consulting, retaining, and continuing education
Source: amazon.com

Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice, 2nd Edition, shows your undergraduate and graduate students how theory will help them improve the ways in which they practice nursing. It contains contributions by the original theorists, including discussion of how theories can be used in practice and examples of implementation written by nurses themselves. To help your students develop critical thinking skills, clear explanations of multiple ways of knowing are detailed, in addition to reflective practice, and background information on the process of theory development.
Source: amazon.com

Offering sound presentation of fundamental nursing concepts, and precise coverage of step-by-step clinical procedures, the second edition of Fundamentals of Nursing has been thoroughly revised to reflect the latest developments in current practice. NEW TO EDITION: Coverage of the nursing process has been moved forward, opening with a discussion of Critical Thinking and the Nursing Process. This lays the foundation for the content presented in later chapters. Content related to spirituality and sexuality is emphasized throughout as appropriate so that students may see how these vital aspects affect clients in vital ways. Increased coverage of family and community health concepts - especially in chapter 11 on the legal framework. Home health care content is also emphasized throughout in order to highlight the many arenas of contemporary client care. Coverage of Alternative/Complementary Treatments is highlighted in each chapter, as appropriate, reflecting the author's holistic philosophy. New unit on " Diagnostic and Therapeutic Interventions" that includes: Vital signs & physical assessment, Diagnostic testing, Care of Perioperative Clients, Medication Administration, Documentation Discussion of quality has been integrated with that of accountability to highlight the importance of keeping the 'care' in nursing care in an age of a cost-conscious, business-oriented health care system. More emphasis will be placed on concept of holism and holistic nursing in Chapters 11 and 22. The chapter on Mobility has been totally revised, now emphasizing the impact of immobility on health status. It also presents information on the functional aspects of mobility. The overall number of boxed items was reduced to enhance clarity of presentation. A Clinical Companion is available that contains many valuable reference tools as well as every skill presented in the book. Perfect for use in a clinical setting! Free CD-ROM at back of book

This book represents a critical step forward in the integration of health assessment content for advanced practice nurses. Unique in its approach, this title starts with a common patient complaint or presentation involving a body system, and shows the user how to incorporate physical examination, history, and diagnostic studies to arrive at the correct diagnosis of the patient's problem.
Source: https://www.betterworldbooks.com/