Overview of Tuskegee University
Important Collections in the Archives
Finding Aid for Albert Murray
Finding Aid for Albert Murray at Harvard (part of the same collection)
There are 780 books, 3400 cd, vinyl records, and albums.
The University Archives includes material documenting the history and growth of Tuskegee University. Books (including faculty publications), manuscripts, Tuskegee University periodicals and newspapers, ephemera, photographic images, disc and tape recordings, and other archival items are available for research under supervised conditions.
You can browse the Archives Holdings lists online.
Archives News
Website Receives 850,000 Hits
We are pleased to note that our website has had over 850,000 hits in just seven years. Of those hits, forty-five percent are from abroad. Thank you for visiting our website. Check back periodically for updated materials.
New: Tuskegee University Catalogs/Bulletins from 1881-1915
Thanks to a generous donation from the National Park Service, Tuskegee Historic Site, we are pleased to note that we have digitized and made available our Catalogs/Bulletins from 1881-1915. Information in this wonderful resource includes student and faculty listings, course listings and historical information.
Gulf Coast Historical Review Full-Text Archives now available online
The Tuskegee University Archives is pleased to announce that the 20-year print run of the Gulf Coast Historical Review (1985-2006) is now available in full through the Tuskegee University Archives website. Individual issues are available for browsing and viewing online in PDF format; all issues are also indexed and available for full-text searches through the website search box.
To browse the collection, visit the Gulf Coast Historical Review collection. To search issues in the collection, use the search box at the top of each page; for example, you can browse the search results page for references to "Tuskegee."
Booker T. Washington Collections
Why go to the Library of Congress to do research on Booker T. Washington? We have the complete set of the same microfilm that they have. We also have over 300 boxes of materials specific to his work, materials regarding the National Negro Business League and the National Negro Health Week. View the Guide to the Papers of Booker T. Washington (Tuskegee), the Papers of Booker T. Washington finding aid (Library of Congress), Booker T. Washington biographical sketch, and our digitized materials about Booker T. Washington.
Communities in Repository
Select a community to browse its collections.
000 About the Archives
Information about your trip to the Tuskegee University Archives
001 History of the Archives
This is a brief history of the Tuskegee University Archives.
002 Meet the Archives Staff
The Tuskegee University Archives Staff
004 Tuskegee Civic Association Meetings, Speeches, and Records
Audio recordings and digitized materials from the Tuskegee Civic Association, a major civil rights group active in Tuskegee and Macon County 1941-1979. The collection focuses on 1956-1959 and includes recordings of mass meetings and major speeches by civil rights pioneers and community activists including K.L. Buford, C.G. Gomillion, Fred Shuttlesworth, Ralph David Abernathy, Martin Luther King, and Jackie Robinson.
005 Reading Lists
This community provides lists of books, etc. about Tuskegee University and Tuskegee University related themes.
006 P. H. Polk Family Collection
Digitized photographs from P. H. Polk, a photographer known for his powerful images that capture life, Tuskegee University, and the Civil Rights Movement. Donated by the Polk family 2017.
010 Archives Holdings
This is the main database of the collections at the archives. The archives holdings are listings of many of the collections, files, drawings, audio, video and other items held within our repository. Unfortunately, these are not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
011 Finding Aids
Included in this community are a variety of finding aids. A finding aid contains specific information about a collection held within the repository. They are used by researchers to determine whether a collection is relevant to their research. Unfortunately, these are not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
012 Photograph Collections
A Variety of Photographs from Our Collection. Unfortunately, these are not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
013 Audio Collections
Audio from a variety of sources. Unfortunately, these are not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
014 Video Collection
Videotapes made throughout the years. Unfortunately, these are not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
015 Pamphlet Collection
A collection of various pamphlets from 1700s to the 1900s. Unfortunately, these are not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
016 Yearbooks
A digitized copy of yearbooks from 1914-2008. These digitized copies are incomplete, primarily showing student class photos. Unfortunately, these are not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
017 A Critical Reappraisal of Booker T. Washington: A Humanities Initiative
Provided by a generous grant from the NEH. The materials within this community were compiled during the processing of the Tuskegee University collection called the Booker T. Washington Papers. This collection is in fact a collection of materials specific to Booker T. Washington's private life as well as some of his work at the university. Unfortunately, these are not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
020 History of the University
Materials concerning the history of Tuskegee University. This community will continue to grow as we digitize more materials.
021 University Timeline
A timeline of the history of Tuskegee University. This PDF was compiled by the archives staff for use by educators and others interested in the history of the university. Again, this document is not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
022 Lynching Information
Includes information about Tuskegee University Archives' extensive collection of lynching data. This material is not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
023 Answers to Commonly Posed Questions
FAQ containing over one hundred significant questions concerning Tuskegee University. The questions, and subsequent answers, were compiled by the archives staff in an attempt to provide succinct responses to some of our more frequent questions. Unfortunately, these are not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
024 FAQs about Tuskegee University
Compiled by the previous archivist, Danny Williams, this document provides interesting facts about the university that are not found in the previous section. Please refer to this when you are working on any aspect of the university prior to 1990. Unfortunately, these are not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
025 Speakers List (1885-1974)
Compiled by the previous archivist, Danny Williams, this document provides a comprehensive listing of speakers that spoke at Tuskegee from 1885 to 1974. Please contact us for further information about the occasion and their topics.
026 Faculty and Staff Listing (1881-1936)
Compiled by the university's first archivist, Monroe Work, this document lists faculty and staff positions at Tuskegee University, including names and tenure. This listing is exhaustive and complete. If you are doing genealogical work and the name you are seeking is not listed, then they did not work at Tuskegee during those dates. If you are looking for a student that is not listed, please contact us.
027 Campus Cemetery
This community represents a concerted effort on the part of the university to provide a visual listing of those buried at Tuskegee University's cemetery. The drawings include two different perspectives which were compiled at different times. The cemetery drawings continue to change with the passing of people affiliated with Tuskegee University.
028 Tuskegee University Presidents' Biographical Information
Contains biographical information and some speeches from the Presidents of Tuskegee University. Unfortunately, these are not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
029 Foreign Students at Tuskegee Institute
Tuskegee University is proud of its diversity. This community includes a listing of students from Africa and other international locations. There is also a photograph showing international students from 1908. This information was compiled from the early records of the Tuskegee University Registrar’s office. Student Gyasi Carr-Holland helped to compile these materials by searching these early records.
030 Bulletins and Other Important Documents
This community was set up in order to provide a location for other documents that might be useful for the researcher. We plan to digitize many of the university's early school bulletins and other pertinent documents. Please regularly check this community for additional materials.
031 George Washington Carver Collection
This community contains a wide variety of information about and by this great scientist. All of Carver's Bulletins have been scanned and placed into this section for use by researchers. Unfortunately, this material is not exhaustive. If you are looking for something that is not listed, please contact us.
040 Forms
We are pleased to offer selected forms to our researchers to facilitate transactions with the Tuskegee University Archives. Please use these forms when requesting use or research permissions. If specific research or photos are needed, please contact the Tuskegee University Archives' staff.
041 Citation Guide
If you are having trouble citing material found on this website, this community should help. Provided is information on how to properly cite items from Tuskegee University Archives. Examples are taken specifically from items held within the repository.
042 Copyright Information
General copyright information for this site.
043 Permissions/Copyright for Commercial Use
Specific Permissions/Copyright for materials used in commercial endeavors.
044 Archives Document Retention Schedule and Forms
This policy primarily addresses the retention, management, and destruction of governance, financial and personnel records at Tuskegee University.
050 Teaching Resources
PowerPoint, booklists, etc. for teachers k-12 and college. This community will be continuously updated in order to provide educators with important resources available from Tuskegee University.
051 Pamela Farmer Portrait Collection
Pamela Farmer of Decatur, Alabama is an accomplished artist whose pencil portraits of famous African Americans are now held within the Tuskegee University Archives.
060 Shiloh National Historic Sites
Tuskegee University Archives was honored concerning its collaboration with the Shiloh Historic Site Archives (including the Shiloh Rosenwald School, church, and cemetery). As part of a 2013 grant with the State Historical Advisory Board (SHRAB) and the Alabama Department of Archives and History (ADAH), Tuskegee helped the Shiloh School, Notasulga, Alabama, to compile its rich archives. The materials within this community highlight the materials that were processed and preserved. These materials are not exhaustive. Please contact Tuskegee University Archives for further information.
065 The Amelia Boynton Robinson Collection: A Cooperative Project with the Smithsonian Museum of African American History and Culture
The Smithsonian Museum of African American History and Culture has graciously supported the processing and preservation of the Amelia Boynton Robinson Collection.
070 Macon County Archives Historical Documents
The Macon County Archives and Tuskegee University Archives have enjoyed a partnership during the last several years. The relationship has resulted in several digital projects. Included in these projects were the digitization of the 1832 Macon County Land Survey and the Lot and Land Books from 1890-1919
080 Obituary Listing
This community consists of the finding aid for our collection of obituaries. This finding aid lists the names of individuals whose obituaries (funeral programs) are found within our archives. Most of the individuals were either affiliated directly or indirectly with Tuskegee University. This collection is continuously updated. Please contact archives staff for further information.
090 The Tuskegee Messenger and Student
This community is the result of our continued partnership with the National Park Service. The digitized materials include a special 50th edition of the Messenger, a first edition of the Tuskegee Student (1915), and the Tuskegee Messenger (1906-1909). Further materials will be added to this collection as they are digitized.
091 Tuskegee Farmer's Conference Programs
Farmer's Conference Programs from 1926-2015. This is the most complete collection of these materials.
095 The Southern Letter 1915-1919
This community is the result of our continued partnership with the National Park Service. The digitized materials include digitized copies of The Southern Letter from 1915-1919.
100 Special Exhibits
This community was set aside in order to highlight some of our more interesting documents, maps, etc. These items can be used by researchers, educators and students to highlight some of the more provocative events at Tuskegee University.
150 The Buildings of Tuskegee University
This community contains photos and data about the many wonderful, historic buildings on campus. Although not exhaustive, this community will be added to on a regular basis.
200 Tuskegee University Veterinary School AV/AT Holdings
This community developed as a cooperative effort between the Tuskegee School of Veterinary Medicine and the Tuskegee University Archives. Includes all of the audio/visual materials from the Tuskegee University School AV/AT holdings. For further information, contact the T. S. Williams Veterinary Medical Library at 334-727-8307.
Tuskegee University Archives Repository
WOOD
GLASS
METAL
CLOTH