LibGuides: Political Science: Home

Political Science Databases

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is located on the 2nd floor.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)-is the process of obtaining materials not owned by Tuskegee University. Articles are usually received in 3 to 5 days, and books in 4 to 7 days. (No charge for items obtained from universities within Alabama). Please make requests as far in advance as possible.

In order to request an interlibrary loan, you must fill out an Interlibrary Loan Request Form.
If you require assistance, please contact 334-727-8895 or contact:
Ms. Amber Lantz - Ph: 334-727-8899 / e-mail - alantz@tuskegee.edu

World Leaders and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments

World Leaders and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments
The directory is intended to be used primarily as a reference aid and includes as many governments of the world as is considered practical, some of them not officially recognized by the United States. Regimes with which the United States has no diplomatic exchanges are indicated by the initials NDE. Governments are listed according to the most commonly used version of each country’s name. The spelling of the personal names in this directory follows transliteration systems generally agreed upon by US Government agencies, except in the cases in which officials have stated a preference for alternate spellings of their names. NOTE: Although the head of the central bank is listed for each country, in most cases, he or she is not a Cabinet member. Ambassadors to the United States and Permanent Representatives to the UN, New York, have also been included.

Internet Archive

archive.org
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.Founded in 1996, their mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge. They collect published works and make them available in digital formats. They are building a public library that can serve anyone in the world with access to the Internet.

Special Collections

The Special Collections is located on the 3rd floor of the Ford Motor Company Library (Hollis Burke Frissell building). Special Collections include The Albert Murray Collection, the Rare Books Collection, the Washington Collection, and the Dr. James E. Massey Collections.

In 1999, a separate Rare Books Room was established. The Rare Books room houses titles with publication dates in the 19th century, particularly those dealing with the institution of slavery and early African American literature, books published before the 1900s, books published in limited editions, first editions, and autographed books. The collection also contains a sizeable collection of abolitionist literature and a large collection of pamphlets dealing primarily with racial issues.

The Albert Murray Collection is located inside the rare books room. It consists of books donated by Albert Murray, Tuskegee University graduate (1939), author of many renowned books, and co-founder of Jazz at the Lincoln Center.” It contains his personal collection of literacy masterpieces, scientific, and social scientific titles, reflecting a broad appreciation of human achievement. Books and other memorabilia of Albert Murray are on permanent exhibit in the Rare Books Room.

The Washington Collection, a non-circulating collection, named in honor of Booker T. Washington, consists of materials that are “by and about Black People,” and is comprised of over 30,000 volumes and several microfilm sets. Although its strongest holdings are in African American history and literature, materials about Africa and the entire Black Diaspora are included.

The James Massey Collection
Dr. James E. Massey, Dean Emeritus of the Tuskegee University Chapel, donated over 2,000 books to the Tuskegee University Library. This collection consists primarily of books on religion but also includes titles on American history, Black studies, autobiographies, slave history, race progress, and music.

HOURS
Monday - Friday
10:00 AM to 6:00 PM

Contact Us

Phone: (334) 727-8890
Fax: (334) 727-9282

The World Fact Book

The World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.

U.S. Government Resources

Bureau of International Organization Affairs

The Bureau of International Organization Affairs (IO) is the U.S. Government’s primary interlocutor with the United Nations and a host of international agencies and organizations. As such, the Bureau is charged with advancing the President’s vision of robust multilateral engagement as a crucial tool in advancing U.S. national interests. U.S. multilateral engagement spans the full range of important global issues, including peace and security, nuclear nonproliferation, human rights, economic development, climate change, global health, and much more.
U.S. Department of State

Department Mission Statement
The Department's mission is to shape and sustain a peaceful, prosperous, just, and democratic world and foster conditions for stability and progress for the benefit of the American people and people everywhere.
--From the FY 2014 Agency Financial Report,
released November 2014
The United Nations List of International Organizations

This listing is provided through the Global Inventory of Statistical Standards.
The United States Government Manual

The United States Government Manual is the official handbook of the Federal Government. This currently updated edition of the Government Manual provides comprehensive and authoritative information on the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and Federal boards, commissions, and committees.
United States Institute of Peace - International Organizations

The United States Institute of Peace works to prevent, mitigate, and resolve violent conflict around the world. USIP does this by engaging directly in conflict zones and by providing analysis, education, and resources to those working for peace.

Alabama Virtual Library (AVL)

Alabama Virtual Library
Provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with online access to essential library and information resources. It is primarily a group of online databases that have magazines, journals, and newspaper articles for research.

Political Science: Home

Welcome

Political Science Databases

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is located on the 2nd floor.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)-is the process of obtaining materials not owned by Tuskegee University. Articles are usually received in 3 to 5 days, and books in 4 to 7 days. (No charge for items obtained from universities within Alabama). Please make requests as far in advance as possible.

In order to request an interlibrary loan, you must fill out an Interlibrary Loan Request Form. If you require assistance, please contact 334-727-8895 or contact: Ms. Amber Lantz - Ph: 334-727-8899 / e-mail - alantz@tuskegee.edu

World Leaders and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments

Internet Archive

Archives

Hours of Operation Monday-Friday 8 am - 4:30 pm

Ph: 334-725-2374 or 334-725-2383 e-mail - archives@tuskegee.edu

Special Collections

The Special Collections is located on the 3rd floor of the Ford Motor Company Library (Hollis Burke Frissell building). Special Collections include The Albert Murray Collection, the Rare Books Collection, the Washington Collection, and the Dr. James E. Massey Collections.

HOURS Monday - Friday 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM