Welcome to the Special Collections of Tuskegee University Library
My name is Lennora Muti’ah Pierrot and as the Special Collections manager, I would like to warmly welcome you to explore the Special Collections of Tuskegee University Library.
Our core mission is to create an inclusive environment which supports and encourages intellectual discovery and scholarship. We are reaching out to you, our faculty, staff, students, and community to collaborate with us by utilizing our collections and resources to facilitate classroom instruction and research.
The Special Collections of Tuskegee University are located on the 3rd floor of the Ford Motor Company Library (Hollis Burke Frissell Building). The Special Collections consist of the Albert Murray Collection, the Rare Books Collection, the Washington Collection, and the Dr. James E. Massey Collection. The Albert Murray Collection consists of the many books which Albert Murray collected and read throughout his life. The collection provides great insight into his intellectual development and eclectic interests. The Rare Books Collection consists of books at least 100 years old or books of which only a limited number of copies exist. It also contains some autographed copies.
The Washington Collection is a non-circulating collection named in honor of Booker T. Washington. The collection consists of materials that are “by and about Black People,” and is comprised of over 30,000 volumes and several microfilm sets. Although its strongest holdings are in African American history and literature, materials about Africa and the entire Black Diaspora are included.
Dr. James E. Massey holds emeritus status in three institutions:
1) Dean Emeritus and Distinguished Professor-at-Large, Anderson University School of Theology,
2) Emeritus Dean of the Tuskegee University Chapel,
3) Pastor Emeritus of the Metropolitan Church of God in Detroit, Michigan.
Dr. Massey’s donation of over 2,000 books to the Tuskegee University Library consists primarily of books on religion, but also includes American history, Black studies, autobiographies, slave history, race progress and music.
The Albert Murray Collection is located inside of the Rare Books Room. It consists of books donated by Albert Murray, a Tuskegee University graduate (1939), author of many renowned books, and co-founder of Jazz at the Lincoln Center. The collection contains his personal collection of literary masterpieces, scientific, and social scientific titles, reflecting a broad appreciation of human achievement. Books and other memorabilia of Albert Murray are on permanent exhibit in the Rare Books Room.
In 1999, a separate Rare Books Room was established. The Rare Books room houses titles with publication dates in the 19th century, particularly those dealing with the institution of slavery and early African American literature, books published before the 1900’s, books published in limited editions, first editions, and autographed books. The collection is also home to a sizeable collection of abolitionist literature and a large collection of pamphlets dealing primarily with racial issues.
