Conducting Archival Research: Research Rules and Best Practices

Accessing and using materials in the archives is distinct from acquiring materials in a library. Because archival materials are rare and possibly fragile, professionals in the field strive to preserve them to the highest standard. This preservation ensures that the materials are available to researchers for generations to come. Below, you will find some typical usage guidelines for an archive. It is good to note that each archive repository is unique, and research rules will vary.

1. The first time any researcher visits the Archives they must complete the registrations form and show appropriate identification. One each subsequent visit the researcher may be asked to read through the rules.
2. Visitors must sign the registration book each time they visit the Research Room.
3. No large bags are permitted in the Research Room. A locker will be provided.
4. These materials are allowed in the Research Room:
   • Pencils
   • Paper. It must be stamped by a staff member.
   • Laptop and notebooks. They will be inspected.
   • Digital camera (no flash). A user agreement must be signed.
5. These materials are NOT allowed in the Research Room:
   • Pens, markers, or ink of any kind.
   • Food, drink, candy (including chewing gum), and tobacco products.
6. Researchers must remain reasonably quiet to avoid distracting others.
7. Cell phone ringers should be set to silent. Call cannot be taken in the Research Room. 
8. Access to the stacks areas of the Archives is NOT allowed.
9. Notify a staff member when your visit ends. Present laptops and notebooks for inspection. Archives and Special Collections staff reserves the rights to inspect all research materials and personal articles before a researcher leaves.
10. Failure to follow these rules may lead to your removal and/or banning from the Archives and Special Collections Reading rooms.

Typically, more detailed rules apply to the handling of materials in Archives and Special Collections. This section will list some rules adequate for working with rare materials. As always, each repository is unique, and it is best to note its rules for your research visit.

1. Archival materials may only be consulted in the Research Room under the supervision of Archivist staff. Archival materials may NOT be removed from the Archives.
2. Researchers may request up to two (2) boxes of materials at a time. Only one box may be on the study table at a time. Only one folder may be removed from a box at a time. Use manila Out Cards to mark your place when removing folders from boxes.
3. Keep materials in the order in which you receive it even if you cannot discern a meaningful order. Use Out Cards to mark your place when removing items from folders.
4. Archival materials must remain in clear view of Archives staff at all times.
5. Cotton gloves must be worn when handling archival or photographic materials. Gloves will be provided. Please avoid touching the surface of photographic materials, even will wearing gloves.
6. Do not mark, fold, or use post-it notes on materials. Respect the fragile nature of archival materials and handle with care. Archival materials must remain flat on the table.
7. Do not exert pressure on material used, such as taking notes on top of materials or resting an arm on archival materials.
8. Book cradles may be required and will be provided for the viewing of bound materials.
9. Proper credits must be given in citation.
10. Photocopy Requests:
    • Complete a photocopy request form. Not all materials can be photocopied due to physical conditions or restrictions.
    • Consult staff for additional information about photocopies.
    • Material for photocopying must maintain its original order and format. Do NOT separate material to be photocopied. 
    • For all requests via email, etc., photocopies are not done on demand. Turnaround may take several business days, depending on the quantity ordered and the volume of orders.
11. If you find materials that are torn, marked, out of order, or in any damaged, please notify a staff member immediately.
12. All materials must be returned to a staff member before leaving the Archives for more than 15 minutes.