The purpose of this guide is to offer assistance to graduate-level students as they perform advanced research for their discipline. In this guide, you will find resources on academic integrity, literature review and annotated bibliography best practices, research methods, data and analysis, writing resources, citation, publishing, and more.
Graduate academic research is a systematic approach to increasing knowledge on a particular subject matter or topic. The deep exploration and study of a specific topic found through academic research are often used to explain specific facts, misconceptions, and opinions of a relevant topic about a field of study.
A person’s academic research is most often associated with a master's degree, doctoral program, or professional contribution to journals, conferences, or internships. Scholarly research is essential in graduate school because it is often the culminating project or final paper submitted to support a candidate’s complete understanding of a topic within a graduate program.
Source:
Graduate Programs for Educators. (2022, January 28). Graduate School Strategies: What is Academic Research? Retrieved March 17, 2022, from https://www.graduateprogram.org/blog/graduate-school-strategies-what-is-academic-research/
The site's article search tool allows researchers to find and read articles in various disciplines. The Tuskegee University Library is connected with WorldCat. You can also use the Ask a Librarian feature to get help with research questions. For graduate students, WorldCat provides an excellent way to find out-of-print and obscure texts in the surrounding libraries.
The Pathways to Science website includes a page dedicated to graduate student resources. If you're in the science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields, you'll find access to short-term research and travel opportunities. The site also provides tools to study graduate programs and to find fellowships as you progress through your studies. The site's greatest assets are its archived webinars, which cover various topics from funding your education to writing a personal statement.
Research opportunities, grants, and fellowships are covered in full, and the site is regularly updated to include new opportunities. You'll also find grant-writing resources and guides that help you break down grant requirements and craft strong proposals. While you might think of the hard sciences when you think of the NSF, the website also provides a host of resources for students in the social sciences. Thanks to the diversity of opportunities it represents, it's a resource you can use throughout your graduate education.
Many of the Library of Congress's resources are available online. The online database is easy to access and allows researchers to browse by category or complete a keyword search. In addition to providing access to significant research catalogs online, the Library of Congress site lets researchers access trial databases. If you're researching a relatively new field, these trial databases can provide information you might not find listed in other catalogs.
Synopsis: The Tuskegee University Library Faculty is committed to providing faculty, students, and staff with the necessary information literacy and critical thinking skills to use information effectively to succeed inside and outside of the classroom.
Synopsis: The Tuskegee University Library Services department assists with applying the latest APA 7th Edition Style Guide. This resource will guide students in writing papers, creating projects, and other research assignments.
Synopsis: This guide connects students and scholars with the resources to write an exemplary literature review. In this guide, you will find helpful journal articles, instructional videos, and connections with library personnel.
Creating an Annotated Bibliography
Synopsis: This guide will assist you in writing an adequate annotated bibliography, which must include a list of citations to books, articles, and/or documents. Each citation must be followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive and evaluative paragraph—the annotation. The annotation aims to inform the reader of the sources cited' relevance, accuracy, and quality.