The Tuskegee University Archives aims to document the history and growth of Tuskegee University by identifying, collecting, preserving, organizing, and describing records that hold permanent legal, fiscal, or administrative significance. These records reflect the history of the university's administrative offices, academic departments, related organizations, and the activities of its faculty, staff, and students. Additionally, the Archives provide information services that support the university's operations and serve as a valuable resource to enhance and inspire creative teaching, learning, and service.
The Tuskegee University Archives are housed on the historic campus of Tuskegee University in Tuskegee, Alabama. Their diverse collections focus on the vital history of the institution with emphasis on significant figures, prominent organizations, and more.
Special features in Tuskegee University's program include: The General Daniel "Chappie" James Center for Aerospace Science and Health Education, honoring America's first black four-star general who was a Tuskegee University graduate, and housing the nation's only Aerospace Science Engineering program at an HBCU; Media Center, School of Veterinary Medicine, with state-of-the-art video up-link and down-link, intra-school communications, audio/visual, graphics, photography and document production; The Tuskegee University National Center for Bioethics in Research and Health Care, a distinctive research, teaching and outreach program that addresses issues of ethics and public policy in the treatment of people of color and rural Americans in health care.
Tuskegee University was founded in 1881 and is a private, historically black college and university (HBCU) located in Tuskegee, Alabama. The university has distinctive strengths in the sciences, architecture, business, engineering, health, education, and other professions.
The mission of the University Archives is to identify, collect, preserve, arrange, and describe records having permanent legal, fiscal, and/or administrative value in documenting the history of the administrative offices, the academic departments, and Tuskegee University related organizations, as well as the activities of its faculty, staff, and students. It facilitates efficient records management and makes records accessible for research and administrative use in accordance with established archival policy by providing adequate facilities for the retention and preservation of such records. The Archives provides information services that assist the operation of the institution, and serves as a resource to stimulate and nourish creative teaching and learning. Furthermore, our Archives utilizes technology in ways that support its mission; publicizes its holdings through exhibits, lectures, and other media, including electronic. It serves research and scholarship by making available and encouraging the use of its collections by members of the community at large. We promote knowledge and understanding of the origins, aims, programs, and goals of our institution, and of the development of these aims, goals and programs. The Archives works cooperatively with other libraries, archives, and museums and helps define the unique nature of the Tuskegee University Libraries.