Library Orientation Guide: The Special Collections

Special Collections Department

The Special Collections is located on the 3rd floor of the Ford Motor Company Library (Hollis Burke Frissell building). Special Collections consists of: The Albert Murray Collection, the Rare Books Collection, the Washington Collection, and the Dr. James E. Massey Collections. In 1999, a separate Rare Books Room was established. The Rare Books room houses titles with publication dates in the 19th century, particularly those dealing with the institution of slavery and early African American literature, books published before the 1900’s, books published in limited editions, first editions, and autographed books. The collection also contains a sizeable collection of abolitionist literature and a large collection of pamphlets dealing primarily with racial issues.

The Albert Murray Collection is located inside of the rare books room.  It consists of books donated by Albert Murray, Tuskegee University graduate (1939), author of many renowned books, and co-founder of Jazz at the Lincoln Center.” It contains his personal collection of literacy masterpieces, scientific, and social scientific titles, reflecting a broad appreciation of human achievement. Books and other memorabilia of Albert Murray are on permanent exhibit in the Rare Books Room.

Albert Murray Exhibit- YouTube

"The Murray installation — entitled Beyond Category — details the extraordinary lives of the Murrays. It draws from the couple’s personal collections and includes a comprehensive amalgam of books, family memorabilia, posters, military gear, personal reflections, chronological data, awards, and an extensive selection of photographs of Murray with some of America’s most famous personalities and musicians."  Michael Tullier, APR, Office of Communications, Public Relations and Marketing

The Washington Collection
The Washington Collection, a non-circulating collection, named in honor of Booker T. Washington, consists of materials that are “by and about Black People,” and is comprised of over 30,000 volumes and several microfilm sets. Although its strongest holdings are in African-American history and literature, materials about Africa and the entire Black Diaspora are included.

George Washington Carver Documentary

George Washington Carver: An Uncommon Life​

The James Massey Collection
Dr. James E. Massey, Dean Emeritus of the Tuskegee University Chapel, donated over 2,000 books to the Tuskegee University Library.  This collection consists primarily of books on religion, but also includes titles on American history, Black studies, autobiographies, slave history, race progress, and music.